PDA

View Full Version : installing a brake on a parma turbo controller ??

neonnight
02-10-2005, 06:01 PM
i am very new to slot cars and was wondering if there was a simple mod to install a brake on a stock 2.5 ohm controller its a parma turbo #265 . also i have a few controllers i dont know the ohm's of how can i test them with a meter so i know what i have ? thanks for any help

NFalls
02-11-2005, 10:35 AM
If you have access to a VOM (volt ohm meter) and it will read down to .5 ohms accurately, just touch one prob probe to the wide band at the right end of the resistor (where the white wire is connected) and touch the other probe to the first single winding on the other end just to the right of the wide band on the other end, with the meter switched to the Ohms scale. Then you should read the resistance of the entire unit.

Depending on the unit this could vary from 1 to 50 ohms. Most commmerical raceway units will range from one to 5 ohms. Homesets and HO will be higher generally.

The Brake "pot" is simply connected in the red wire between the controller and connnector. Snip the wire and connect the controller to the wiper terminal and connect the connector wire to either of the the resistor terminals ( only one is needed the other remains disconnected).

When connected to the track terminals, max brake is the setting with no resistance , or when the wiper touchs the resistor at the terminal location. Adjusting the knob away fron this point adds resistance which translates to less brake effect and the longer your car will glide. Max resistance essentially is no brakes at all.

Most brake pots for commerical raceway use are 2-3 ohms. Also remember the effects you feel will differ from track to track depending on it's wiring. SO when you travel you will have to try it out and make compensating adjustments.

It's really easy to do! You'll enjoy the results. Good Luck!
;) :cool: :D

neonnight
02-11-2005, 04:27 PM