PDA

View Full Version : 2 questions - controller heat and small amounts of choke

Greg N
04-26-2006, 04:53 PM
Two questions:

Neither of these were an issue before I started racing ISRA cars on a flat track. I have 15 band difalco with a built in choke. Works great and I love it. I'm a very average driver, in way over my head with those hot cars racing on a flat track.

About the heat:
Both with contenders and 12s, while practicing and after the 3 minute heats, the controller transistor and the heat sink get very hot. This is getting better as I get faster, but it's still an issue. How much of a problem is this? Should the transistor be replaced annually? Should I hook up a little computer power supply fan to the heat sink?

About the choke:
I find that both contenders and 12s are easier to drive and very markedly decrease their braid wear with 1 foot of choke. My lap times don't change noticeably. I find this hard to believe, I wouldn't think that 1 foot of choke would do anything much. Is this a common experience?

Thanks!

Greg

JayGee
04-27-2006, 11:31 AM
Greg,

The heatsinks and power transistors used are high-wattage and are designed to dissipate the heat you're seeing.

The reason the transistor heats up more as you are first learning to drive a flat track with a high current draw motor is that you are spending more time in the intermediate power bands. The transistor is partially turned on and is conducting high current at the same time that it's dropping high voltage across it.

The power (voltage drop x current draw) is turned into heat.

As you start to drive faster, you spend more time in the high speed bands which reduces the voltage drop across the transistor. Then, when fully punched, the transistor is bypassed completely by the blast relay and/or full power contact in the controller handle.

Putting some numbers behind this discussion...