PDA

View Full Version : Rebraiding



thunderdome
12-09-2006, 01:14 AM
Rebraiding king track would anyone like to share there hints and tips ?
would like to make it as painless as possible
Carl
Thunderdome Slotcar Raceway

swiss
12-09-2006, 10:06 AM
Assuming the braid is held on with contact cement,
use a soldering iron to get it off. Tin the iron periodically
and "follow" it with something thin to wedge between
the braid and the braid recess to do the lifting/peeling
of the braid. if you start to take paint or worse, MDF,
up with the braid you're working too fast or need to re-evaluate the process. Once you sucessfully have the braid up, use a contact cement thinner/remover to soften up any remaining glue
and rub off with a coarse rag. Of course make sure the remover
doesn't attack the track paint surface and/or your lane stripes.

GaryG
12-09-2006, 10:36 AM
Try what Mike said first. If that becomes too much
trouble, I have another method. But my method
can damage the recess if not done properly.

brassrodman
12-09-2006, 11:39 AM
get hold of wayne as he has done this a hundred times

thunderdome
12-09-2006, 03:42 PM
thanks mike will try that never though of using a soldering iron to help lift the braid will keep you posted
Carl
Thunderdome Slotcar Raceway
I got the Sickness

Ramcatlarry
12-10-2006, 12:56 AM
After the braid is off the wood, It sure cleans up nicely if you reroute the braid recess with the router to a CONSISTENT depth to match the new braid that you use. Measure the braid to know how DEEP to cut. Usual goal is to have the braid flush to -0.005" below the surface. Buy the heavy braid for a king....you will be running fast cars anyway - right?

I like the idea of gluing to a painted surface instead of the bare mdf...too porous for the glue to bond the best. Even primer is OK.

You have to allow a couple of thousandths for the glue - and you can fill in divots in the wood with glue so that the braid stays flat.

GaryG
12-10-2006, 08:17 AM
Ramcatlarry,

Routing the recess is the method I was hinting at,
I'd only do that if absolutely necessary. I've seen
tracks damaged very badly when an inexperienced
person tries this!

thunderdome
12-10-2006, 06:25 PM
Gary
Thought that is what you were hinting at don't have any experience with routing but i have patience so will try Mike method any thoughts on tinned copper braid
Carl
Thunderdome Slotcar Raceway
I Got The Sickness

GaryG
12-10-2006, 06:40 PM
Thunderdome,

I've rerouted the recess on lots of tracks. But there
are some tricks to keep from screwing up the recess
that I've learned from experience!

Bent rim
12-11-2006, 10:21 PM
Shoot your fingers with Novocaine before you begin.:rolleyes:
Are you rebraiding the whole track or just some corners? If you are doing some corners, then what Mike said is the best way.
If you are doing the whole track, I would get a three inch base router. Good thing I know somebody with one (Mark G). Clean up sucks but you can knock it out in a few hours.

thunderdome
12-11-2006, 11:07 PM
got to do the whole lot not something to look forward to

:(
Carl
Thunderdome Slotcar Raceway
I got the sickness