.

.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Difalco Sensitivity pot replacement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    290

    Difalco Sensitivity pot replacement

    I do need an equivalent to the Sensitivity pot on a Difalco Controller.
    The number stamped on the pot is # 026T332R250B
    The pot I need has the # 026T332R500B stamped on.

    Anyone knows if this available from Farnell (In One)?

    And the question is: can I use any wire wound 50 ohm pot as replacement?
    If so, what about wattage on the pot (1w enough or do I have to go with 2.5w or even higher)?

    I have just bought the "E"motion 3 HD30 pcb and need to upgrade the Sensitivity pot to the 50 ohm.

    At this time I'm unable to order directly from Difalco and will try to get them localy.
    Best Regards
    Johnny Andersen
    Oslo - Norway
    http://www.amrc.no

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Auburn,Wa
    Posts
    1,640
    Johnny:

    Alas not all electrical items are equal...

    I believe in Europe you have to look for a 50R value wirewound. Farnell has only 1 watt and 3 watt. Manufatures are COLVEN CLR400111S50RK or TYCO RW3500KC brands. There may be more but for now thats what I could find.


    If you can order them from Jim Difalco, (not sure why there is some dificulty).

    I would suggest trying the Digi-Key Norway site below and enter the number 026T332R500B in the search box.

    Keep in mind there is no 90 deg lock tab on the Farnell 50R wirewounds as compared to the below CTS wirewound. The European 50R 3w appear to be much larger 043/048 diamiter the 1w the same size 023. Sorry don't have my inch to metric calipers handy. So check if the electrical tabs line up also print out the pdf files for each wirewound and go from there. Also the rotation direction is noted in the diagrams.

    http://uk.farnell.com/jsp/search/bro...+wirewound&Ntx=



    Digi-Key

    The pot you should use as direct replacement is the 50 ohm 026T332R500B which is a 5w 50 ohm wirewound. Digi-key has cross references as CT2153. Use the link to find the data sheet. The particular brand is CTS but others manufacture them.

    This is off the Digi-key USA try the various international sites by clicking the flag.... http://dkc1.digikey.com/no/digihome.html

    USA: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...name=CT2153-ND

    Norway: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...name=CT2153-ND



    I am sure Farnell has cross reference numbers too.

    The 026T332R250B is a 25 ohm 5w wirewound and cross references as CT2152. For Scale racing this will be too low for the HD30 board.

    USA: http://search.digikey.com/scripts/Dk...name=CT2152-ND

    Norway:

    I would stick to the higher wattage as 1 watt is way too low and may disintegrate, 2-3 watt will work but has that "if" factor plus are harder to find but does have a smoother feel as compaired to a 5w.

    Most any 50R wirewound will work but keep between 3-5w.

    Raymond
    Last edited by Slapshot; 03-12-2009 at 03:28 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NorthWesterner now in Philippines
    Posts
    9,523

    Wow

    Raymond!

    You are truly the walking/talking/typing slotcarpedia machine!

    Janders... I hope that helped!

    PK
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Paul Kassens
    OWH Slot Car Talk "Mom"
    The Old Weird Herald
    email: paulk@oldweirdherald.com

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    york,pa
    Posts
    832
    I just bought one from mouser electronics for $6.76 50 ohm 3watt potentiometer rheostat. Also smc electrical has a 50 ohm 5 watt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Eastern Pa.
    Posts
    360
    Some time ago we were able to get one from Difalco. Difalco is reluctant to offer this item for sale, though I don't know why. Try them at Difalco.com
    DISCOVER YOUR NEED FOR SPEED!

    http://www.paradiseroadslotcar.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    290
    Thanks for the info guys.

    I have ordered a few from Digi-Key Norway.

    I have been in contact with Mr. Difalco, and he has been very helpful.
    He would send me a few, but the problem was payment.
    I had to send cash which is illegal in Norway. If anything should happen, the money is lost.

    Mr Difalco now has a Pay Pal account making it so much easier.
    Best Regards
    Johnny Andersen
    Oslo - Norway
    http://www.amrc.no

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    St Charles, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    2,319
    Does not AB Slotsport (england distributor) stock Difalco to Europe?
    l.d. kelley, M.A. Ramcatlarry@aol.com

    60 year pin 1959-2019
    Racing slot cars in America
    USRA 2019 member
    IRRA, ISRA/USA, Hardbodies 1/24 &
    1/32 - Great Lakes Slot Car Club
    retired raceway owner 1992-2007
    Omni/Cidex service center

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by Ramcatlarry
    Does not AB Slotsport (england distributor) stock Difalco to Europe?
    I have never heard of any Distributors of Difalco in Europe other than maybe Denmark.

    As I'm ordering all the part for our club I do so from the American Manufactures and Distributors. Most of the time I use Crawley and/or Eagle.
    It was just after receiving the new Difalco HD30 boards I was aware that the sense pot might be changed.
    Best Regards
    Johnny Andersen
    Oslo - Norway
    http://www.amrc.no

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    england
    Posts
    198
    would this be fine
    5 WATT 50 OHM W/W POTENTIOMETER

    Wirewound control, ideal for loudspeaker volume controls, miniature motor speed controllers, etc.
    Power rating: 5W
    Resistance: 50 ohms 20%
    Max. operating voltage: 120V
    Breakdown voltage: 200V
    Dimensions: Body diameter: 24mm
    Body depth: 11mm
    Spindle diameter: 6mm
    Spindle length: 6.5mm (17 inc. bush)
    this is my Signature

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wesley Chapel, FL.
    Posts
    1,385

    Question I Wonder If....

    I have seen some stock PARMA controllers that people have put an adjustable brake in the handle. I was 'told' that one was a fan reostat that was bought from a home building store...I just wonder if that would work on a brake line on a resister controller? Or was I fed a line?


    PHIL I.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wesley Chapel, FL.
    Posts
    1,385

    Question

    I found the DEFALCO brake part number in digi-key. It translate to only a 5 OHM 5 watt resister. Why are people suggesting a 50 OHM 5 watt? What is the difference between the 5 & 50 OHM pertaining to the controller? More sensitive? Less? They have them from 5 OHM to 100 OHM in 5 OHM incroments.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Oslo - Norway
    Posts
    290
    phil I: This tread is not about the brake pot, but the Sensitivity pot!

    I'm upgrading my 15 band Difalco to the new 30 band.
    Information following the new board telling You to change from 25 to 50 ohms.
    Some of the 15 band controllers might already have the 50 ohms, then You can use that.
    Last edited by Janders; 03-26-2009 at 04:27 PM.
    Best Regards
    Johnny Andersen
    Oslo - Norway
    http://www.amrc.no

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wesley Chapel, FL.
    Posts
    1,385


    Thats what I get for talkin & typing at the same time......

    PHIL I.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Model Car Race Center at Eden Mall
    Posts
    439

    Wink

    I have upgrade three controllers from 15 to the new 30 band and they all have the correct Sens. Pot which is 50 ohm. You will find that some of the old 10 bands had a 25 ohm Sens. Pot in this case you will need a 50 ohm pot.

    SCJ

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    364
    Pretty much all of the newer 15 band Difalcos have the 50 ohm pot, and some of the later 10 bands do also. When I changed my sons 10 band over to a 15 band, it already had the 50 ohm pot in it. Now that I'm getting ready to change at least two of them over to 30 band, the only thing I'll need is the boards.

    Mike R

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •