+ Reply to Thread

Thread: armature timing

armature timing

hi paul
    sorry for my ignorance but i have read hundreds of the posts in here over the past week or so and i am always reading about armature timing.
    as i am still new to slot cars and looking at my motors and triying to work out how you can adjust armature timing on what looks like a 1 piece part.
    here are my questions
    1. what is involved in changing armature timing?
    2. is it somethig that some one with a pretty high mechanical knowledge but not so much with electrical could do?
    3. how can i tell what timing is in my current motors.

and on a different subject i have a TF drag car with a motor thats has G20 sticker on the arm.
    is this a group20 motor and if so how good are they.

thanks for answering a couple of my other post you knowledge has been invaluable so far with looking at set ups on my tech block but have had track time yet but will let you know how they went (or didnt).

Hi wittyracin,

I also race in Australia.

The way you adjust armature timing is by holding the stacks and turning the comm clockwise (I think) when looking down from the top. You will most likely have to do this with a pair of pliers with a rag or something rapped around them to stop damaging the comm. I don't know what Paul thinks about it but I wouldn't recommend doing this to any armature other than a Parma chinese 16D. With all the different armature timings you can buy in most cases it isn't neccessary. Depending on what kind of motor it is you will find that sometimes the endbell is adjustable (Parma rotor and SpeedFX) or you can buy an endbell with a different hole patten which can advance the timing. This is most common in alumnium endbells for I-15, G27 and G7 but is also used for plastic endbells in G12.