By Larry Mattingly


MIAMISBURG, OH …Willy Custer cleaned house in the Buckeye Retro Series (BRS) South series finale Saturday, April 12 at Rick Blackson’s T/R Motorplex facility in Miamisburg, Ohio. The young Akron racer won all three events – Formula One/Indy, Can-Am, and Group 7-68 – in convincing style on the 155 foot Gary Gerding-built G-11 super speedway King track.



Ron Hershman led a nine car assault on the former BRS one lap track record of 4.659 with a run of 4.258 to set the pace in the 13-car field. Willy Custer (4.283), Greg Fox (4.384), Ross Scharf (4.478), Tom Harrington (4.485), Thom Greene (4.549), Larry Mattingly (4.566), Bill Nolan (4.567), and Robert Firch (4.582) also were under the former track record.

1. Ron Hershman – 4.258 NTR
2. Willy Custer – 4.283
2. Greg Fox – 4.384
4. Ross Scharf – 4.478
5. Tom Harrington – 4.485
6. Thom Greene – 4.549
7. Larry Mattingly – 4.566
8. Bill Nolan – 4.567
9. Robert Firch – 4.582
10. Dan Myers – 4.664
11. Gary Haworth – 4.718
12. Earl Graybill – 4.725
13. Mike Miller – 4.802



Dan Myers and T/R Motorplex local Mike Miller had a race long duel in the B-Main, with Myers holding on to win by a one lap margin at the finish. Myers gained momentum in the penultimate segment turning 39- laps on the yellow lane to Millers 36-laps on blue to seal the victory. Another local T/R racer, Robert Firch, kept the leaders in sight to finish third, four laps off the pace. Bill Nolan was next in line, followed by Earl Graybill and Gary Haworth.


In another hotly contested race, Will Custer turned back fast qualifier Ron Hershman by two laps to garner the victory in the A-Main. Custer also had the honor of being the only racer to turn 42-laps in the race, accomplishing the feat on the orange lane during the final segment. Additionally, his run of 319 laps broke Terry Watson’s former 299 lap standard. Greg Fox took the final podium spot, holding off Ross Scharf. Tom Harrington was fifth, over Larry Mattingly and Thom Greene, who suffered mechanical issues throughout the contest. * Racers in the A-Main lost approximately five laps during the second heat when the power was inadvertently left on during a track call.


1. Willy Custer – 319 NTR
2. Ron Hershman – 317
3. Greg Fox – 304
4. Ross Scharf – 302
5. Dan Myers – 298+11
6. Tom Harrington – 298+7
7. Mike Miller – 297
8. Robert Firch – 294
9. Larry Mattingly – 288
10. Bill Nolan – 285
11. Earl Graybill – 280
12. Gary Haworth – 272
13. Thom Greene – 156



Ron Hershman picked-up his second fast time award of the day, and set a new track record for Can-Am cars in the process. Hershman broke his old record of 4.308 with a run of 4.024, nipping Willy Custer who turned in a lap of 4.084. Four other drivers, Ross Scharf (4.208), Greg Fox (4.225), Tom Harrington (4.237), and Tony Jackson (4.290), were also under the old mark.

1. Ron Hershman – 4.024 NTR
2. Willy Custer - - 4.084
3. Ross Scharf – 4.208
4. Greg Fox – 4.225
5. Tom Harrington – 4.237
6. Tony Jackson – 4.290
7. Dan Myers – 4.326
8. Mike Miller – 4.384
9. Bill Nolan – 4.438
10. Gary Haworth – 4.451
11. Scott Hall – 4.665
12. Earl Graybill – 4.489
13. Robert Firch – 4.532
14. Larry Mattingly – 4.558
15. Thom Greene – 4.668
16. Dave Sievers – 4.994
17. Rick Blackson – 5.045



The Can-Am B-Main produced the closest finish of the day, as Thom Greene and Scott Hall ran dead even throughout the race to finish with identical 300 lap totals. Greene finished one track segment in front of Hall to get the victory. Adding to the excitement was the fact that Greene and Hall finished beside each other for the last heat. Hall managed to win that battle, however, Greene prevailed to win the war. Bill Nolan ran a solid race to finish in third, five laps off the winning number. Dan Sievers was fourth, trailed by Larry Mattingly, Earl Graybill, Rick Blackson and Gary Haworth. Both Blackson and Haworth suffered from mechanical issues.


The ‘A’ Can-Am feature was almost as close as the B-Main, as Willy Custer edged Ron Hershman by track position 329+16 to 329+4 to gain his second win of the afternoon. Hershman held a two-lap lead going into the seventh heat, but saw that vanish as Custer turned 42 laps on yellow to his 40 lap effort on black. Both drivers turned in 42 lap performances in the last segment. Custer also shattered the track record of 316 laps. Ross Scharf finished on the podium with 318 laps, followed by: Tom Harrington, Greg Fox, Dan Myers, Mike Miller and Tony Jackson.


1. Willy Custer – 329+16 NTR
2. Ron Hershman – 329+4
3. Ross Scharf – 318
4. Tom Harrington – 302
5. Greg Fox – 301
6. Thom Greene – 300+8
7. Scott Hall – 300+7
8. Dan Myers – 298+7
9. Mike Miller – 298+4
10. Tony Jackson – 296
11. Bill Nolan – 295
12. Robert Firch – 292
13. Dave Sievers – 286
14. Larry Mattingly – 282
15. Earl Graybill – 281
16. Rick Blackson – 198
17. Gary Haworth – 185

GROUP 7-68


Ross Scharf was victorious in the B-main, as he put together a solid drive to defeat Greg Fox by a two lap margin for the win. Ron Hershman was two laps in back of Fox to finish third. Mike Miller was next in line, in front of: Dan Myers, and Earl Graybill.


Willy Custer registered a ‘three peat’ on the day as he dominated this race to cruise to a 17-lap win over Tom Harrington. Larry Mattingly trailed in the third slot, followed by Scott Hall, Bill Nolan, Robert Firch. Dave Sievers and Gary Haworth. The latter two drivers experienced mechanical problems throughout the race.


1. Willy Custer – 220 (Automatic track record for class)
2. Ross Scharf – 211
3. Greg Fox – 209
4. Ron Hershman – 207
5. Tom Harrington – 203
6. Thom Greene – 200
7. Larry Mattingly – 199
8. Mike Miller – 196
9. Scott Hall – 192+7
10. Dan Myers – 192+4
11. Earl Graybill – 189
12. Bill Nolan – 185
13. Robert Firch – 143
14. Dave Sievers – 106
15. Gary Haworth – 79


The next time the BRS visits T/R Motorplex a new, state of the art, LapMaster timing and scoring system will be in place on the Gary Gerding-built G-11 super speedway King track, replacing the current LaneMaster system now being employed … Our thanks to Rick Blackson and his wife for their hospitality. The BBQ-style lunch of pulled pork, beef brisket, coleslaw, potato salad and green beans was devoured by the racers … Retro racing is starting to catch on at T/R M, as it appears that it will become the new weekly racing class next season, replacing FCR and Flexi … Another positive outing for the new RETRO Group 7-68 class, as 15 racers signed in for the event at T/R. Everyone continues to sing the praises of the new low cost, double sealed Pro Slot 4002 FK motor used in the class. The motors performed flawlessly in their second test with no failures, or drop off in performance reported. Look for many series and tracks to adopt this new RETRO class into their programs for next season … Good to see Tennessee racers Tom Harrington and Bill Nolan make the trip north to join in the BRS action. Always good to visit with Tom and rehash war stories from his days as a competitor in the American Speed Association (ASA) late model series … Ross Scharf reports that he has decided to pass on buying the Chris Dadds King track in Virginia, and will concentrate his efforts on having his current 145’ Reverse Engleman and oval rebuilt… More news on the track front: It appears that Debbie Baldwin-Elavsky from Rt. 93 Raceway in Akron has acquired the road course and tri-oval from Bristolville Center Raceway, which will be closing this month. Also, Justin Porter reports that HotWheelsHaven in Lorain will be purchasing the reverse Engleman now located on the second floor of Cap and Kit Henry’s HMS facility in Bellevue … Earl Graybill reports that retirement is on the horizon from his day job, which, hopefully, will translate into more slot racing activity.


Sat. May 3




Mark’s Model World, Canton, OH
161’ Kitto-built King