.

.

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Hudy Tire Truer - Replacement Motor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Central, Illinois
    Posts
    325

    Hudy Tire Truer - Replacement Motor

    Hey All,

    Has anyone ever replaced their slave/drive motor on their Hudy Tire Truer?

    I bought mine used and I often have to *Bump* the motor to get it to start spinning, sometimes even that doesn't work and I end up having to turn the switch on and off several times..

    Anyway, I assume the problem is the motor, though I guess it could be a bad switch (I'll check that).

    But I was just curious if anyone has replaced their slave/drive motor on their truer?

    The part's diagram says it's an FRS 550 motor. The closest thing I've been able to find (outside of the over priced Hudy replacement motor) is an RS 550 motor, not sure if they are the same or if there is a difference? I don't know if there are different models of 550 motor or if a 550 motor are all the same?

    The RS 550 is available for about $10, which is much more reasonable than the almost $40 Hudy wants. I have tons of old R/C brushed motors, but I'm sure the RPM would be much too high on those for a direct replacement.

    Thanks!

    -TheChad

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    175
    Chad,
    It sounds like you have a contaminated switch. Try blowing out the switch with compressed air. I have replacement switches if needed.

    Dale
    Talk is Cheap!!!
    Because Supply Always Exceeds Demand!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    175
    To answer your original question, I've had good results using this motor instead of the stock Hudy. I found mine at a local hobby shop but it's also available from Amazon. Search for this model:

    Duratrax Photon Speed 2 Motor with Connectors Evader
    Talk is Cheap!!!
    Because Supply Always Exceeds Demand!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    NorthWesterner now in Philippines
    Posts
    9,648
    Wow... even on Amazon they have that motor for $11 from one vendor, and $40-$50 from other vendors!

    Here's a link to the $11 one, with OWH's affiliate link in it, of course:



    But I would certainly heed Triggerman's advice and check, clean up, or replace the switch first.
    When it comes to Hudy's - he's The Man!

    PK @ OWH
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Paul Kassens
    OWH Slot Car Talk "Mom"
    The Old Weird Herald
    email: paulk@oldweirdherald.com

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,208
    I have had the same problem with mine a few times blow it out and the problem went away.
    Motors By Mic B
    Balance By PoppaPower
    SppedZoneNJ
    www.TheISrausa.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Homeless in Canada
    Posts
    212
    I installed a rock crawler motor. I think it was an old stock Venom motor. Check the switch though, I have replace a few of them.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,511
    Your Hudy tyre truer has a switch?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Central, Illinois
    Posts
    325
    Quote Originally Posted by triggerman View Post
    Chad,
    It sounds like you have a contaminated switch. Try blowing out the switch with compressed air. I have replacement switches if needed.

    Dale
    Thanks for the info Dale, I will definitly try that!

    I will contact you if I find the switch needs to be replaced!

    Thanks,

    -TheChad

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Central, Illinois
    Posts
    325
    Yeah.. Yours doesn't?

    -TheChad

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,511
    Nope

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Central, Illinois
    Posts
    325
    Quote Originally Posted by Zippity View Post
    Nope
    Did you remove it? Or it never had one?

    I thought they all had one..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    4,511
    The earlier models came switchless.........................

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •