Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mental Burn Out

Mental Burn Out

As many of you know, I've been writing about the mental/psychological side of slot car racing since 1994. My data is gathered through personal experience and conversation with other racers.

This thread is in no way intended research for a later article to be published in one of 'Mom's' competitor's media. That would not be ethical, nor would it be fair to Mom. I have a high degree of respect for 'Mom'.

That being said...

Like any sport/hobby, mental burn-out is inevitable. Highly-tuned competitors who grind out not just every heat, but every lap as if their life depended on it, will experience a period of let down. A time when one wonders if they might ever win another event. One might even wonder if one can even get the juices flowing again; constantly searching for a motivating event.

I'd like to hear from those individuals. Those current, retired, and very tired racers who have raced for years upon years. Those who took a break not because of their job, or their kids, or a divorce, or to finish school, etc. I want those who lost their drive, their interest, perhaps plateued in performance and measured no improvement. Those who wondered if their best days were behind them. Then, somehow, found their way back.

I have a theory regarding age and number of years experience when encountering this stage, but I'd like to hear it from others as mentioned above. Perhaps other racers can learn a little something from your experience/s so they might be better prepared to recognize the symptoms, and recover.

Please include your:
    1. current age
    2. number of years you have been racing
    3. age when you encountered burn-out
    4. any additional info you'd share with us, including how you stoked the fire to return, and steps you took once you did return.

Thanks,

JF

Talking

Burn-out occurs when racing becomes too much like a bad job:
    Long hours, low pay & unpleasant associates...